Home Science & Technology An error that deleted the whole family’s photo album

An error that deleted the whole family’s photo album

0
An error that deleted the whole family’s photo album

How does this relate to a tech-driven horror scenario that would send almost anyone into a state of panic? Imagine you accidentally deleted all the photos on your phone and lost them forever. You would probably feel a knot in your stomach realizing that all those memories have been lost. Well, that’s exactly what happened to one family because of a simple mistake.

CLICK TO GET FREE NEWSLETTER CYBERGUY JACKET WITH SAFETY ALERTS, QUICK TIPS, TECH REVIEWS AND EASY TIPS TO MAKE YOU SMARTER

How did the family lose all the photos?

The teenage daughter of the LaCapra family had no idea that her simple action would cause such a disaster. The daughter didn’t mean anything bad, just wanted to free up some space on her iPad for more photos to prepare for the upcoming vacation.

With one quick tap on the iPad and deleting the photos, they were also deleted on the Apple devices of the rest of the family.

This is because her iPad was logged into her mom Jennifer’s iCloud ID and all the photos stored on the iPad were also stored in the family iCloud account. So when those photos were deleted from the iPad, they were deleted from iCloud as well.

ASK KURT: IS APPLE PRIVATE RELAY AN ALTERNATIVE TO A VPN?

A woman browsing an iPad.

A family accidentally deleted their family photos from their iPad. ( )

ARE YOU PROTECTED? SEE THE BEST ANTIVIRUS PROTECTION OF 2023

Priceless photos from over two years have disappeared. . . executed. . . kaput, including photos of loved ones who have passed away.

Fortunately, the LaCapras were able to contact Apple support, and the representatives there helped them through the painful recovery process and recover some of their lost photos. The only saving grace was to act quickly and get support from Apple immediately. A longer delay would permanently destroy the photos forever.

THE QAKBOT MALWARE NETWORK HAS BEEN DISASSEMBLED DURING A MAJOR EMERGENCY

Acting quickly is the key to recover deleted photos

Here’s something you need to know about deleting photos on Apple devices: Photos aren’t permanently deleted right away. Instead, they are moved to the Recently Deleted album, where they can be recovered within 30 days.

As the LaCapra family quickly realized their mistake, they were able to restore their recently deleted photos to any device or iCloud.com.

After 30 days, the photos are permanently deleted from the iCloud server and cannot be recovered. In this case, the family would have to resort to other methods of possible data recovery, such as restoring from iCloud backup or using a third-party data recovery app.

Unfortunately, these methods are not guaranteed to work and may have some downsides, such as overwriting your current data or compromising your privacy.

Be sure to learn from this valuable lesson and get into the habit of regularly backing up your photos and checking your iCloud settings before deleting any photos from your Apple device.

MORE: BEST WAYS TO REMOVE JUST FROM ICLOUD TO MAKE SPACE

How can I avoid this situation and accidentally delete all my photos?

The best way to avoid this is to turn off the iCloud setting before deleting photos and videos from your device. Thanks to this, photos and videos will not disappear from the Cloud, and you will not have to worry about the risk of losing them forever. To turn off iCloud:

  • Open yours Settings app
  • Click yours Apple ID (option at the top with your name)
  • To choose iCloud
  • To choose Photos
  • Disable the option Sync this iPhone option

ONLINE MARKETBOARDS AND SOCIAL PLATFORMS UNDER CONGRESSION WARNING DUE TO PRODUCT RECALL

A woman looking at her phone.

Woman upset when she found out her photos had been deleted. ( )

When you’re done deleting items from your device, turn iCloud for Photos back on so any new photos you take are automatically saved to iCloud.

You can also download the Google Photos app, which is an additional way to automatically back up your photos and videos if you have a Google account, as deleting photos from your Apple device does not affect the Google cloud.

If you ever accidentally delete your precious photos and videos and don’t know what to do, you can always contact Apple Support immediately for help.

MORE: HOW TO TRANSFER PHOTOS, VIDEOS FROM EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE, APPLE DEVICES

What happens if I want to use Family Sharing?

While the LaCapra family has had its problems, Family Sharing is still a great tool that many families use. Here’s how to set up Family Sharing:

  • Go to Settings and touch yours name.
  • get Family Sharingthen tap Set up your family.
  • Follow the on-screen instructions to set up your family and invite family members. You can also create Apple ID for the child if there is none.
  • Click the feature you want to set up for your family, such as iCloud+, Apple Music, or Location Sharing. You can also set up parental controls, Apple Cash, and Apple Watch for your kids.
  • You can see what you’re sharing with your family at any time and adjust your sharing settings by going to Settings >; your name > Family Sharing.

RECEIVE SECURITY ALERTS WITH FREE CYBERGUY NEWSLETTER – CLICK HERE

How do I use Family Photo Sharing?

If you decide you still want to share family photos on your Apple devices, here’s how.

Note: To set up Shared Library, you need a device with iOS 16.1, iPadOS 16.1, macOS Ventura or later with iCloud Photos enabled. If you are under 13, you can join or create a Shared Library only with members of your Family Sharing group.

  • Go to Settings > Photos, then touch Common Library.
  • Select to five people invite, but you can also invite attendees later.
  • To choose previous photos and videos that you want to move to the Shared Library, or you decide to move the photos later.
  • follow steps on the screen to preview the Shared Library, confirm the content you want to share, and invite additional participants.

MORE: DON’T PANIC: Here’s what to do if Apple threatens to delete photos from your iPhone

What are the pros and cons of sharing family photos?

Pros

  • You all have access to the same photos in one place.
  • You can keep track of what photos your kids are taking.

cons

  • You may accidentally delete photos from multiple devices.
  • No privacy from the rest of the family.

HOW TO STOP HEALTH AND FITNESS APPS USING YOUR PRIVACY DATA

Woman looking at the phone.

Sharing family photos is a great way to keep all your photos in one place, but there is a risk of accidentally deleting photos from multiple devices. ( )

Kurt’s most important conclusions

Losing precious photos can be a nightmare, but fortunately, there are ways to prevent such a disaster and recover. By following these simple tips, you can safely store your memories on your Apple devices and enjoy sharing them with your family.

Have you had trouble deleting photos and videos? If you have questions, please let us know by writing to the address Cyberguy.com/Contact.

CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD THE FOX NEWS APP

For more tech tips and security alerts, sign up for my free CyberGuy Report newsletter by clicking Cyberguy.com/Newsletter.

Copyright 2023 CyberGuy.com. All rights reserved.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here